Brief History of the Department

The proposal for the establishment of the Department of Library and Information Science was given approval at the University’s 79th Senate Meeting that held on Thursday the 27th of January 2022. The Vice Chancellor appointed Professor Hudron Kari as the Pioneer Head of Department at the same meeting.
As a result of the synergy between the Department and the University Library, students of the department have a conducive environment for practical learning with the Library as a laboratory for the students.

The department currently boasts two professors, four Ph.D holders and five Master Degree holders as its work force. The Department can be described as unique as its programme is compliant with the 21st century information and communication technology (ICT) digital revolution.
The programme started in the 2023/2024 Academic session. The Department offers a four-year programme of study leading to the award of the Bachelor of Science (B.Sc) Degree in Library and Information Science.

Staff list in the Department

S/NoNameAppointmentArea of Specialization
1Prof. Hudron Kingdom KARITenureInformation and Development
2Dr. Gboyega Oyeniran TenureLibrary Administration and Management 
3Mr. Philip Gana MalgwiTenureLibrarianship, Research Methods, Data Analysis, Information Sources, ICT, Library Management, Learning and Development, Editorial and Publishing and Emerging and Digital Technologies, Information Access and Use, User Studies and Contemporary Librarianship
4Mr. Kenneth Ohis IRENOATenureInformation Science, Social Informatics, ICTs in Libraries, Information Literacy, Library Software, Information Management
5Ms. Onah Ebere EdithTenureReference Resources and Services
6Dr Endouware, Benake-ebide Christy TenureRecords management
7 Tenure  
8 Tenure