Dr. Ifeoma Vivian Anyiam

Brief History of the Department

The Department of Microbiology sprang up from Biological Sciences in October, 2015. Biological Sciences being one of the pioneer Departments during the official commencement of full academic activities at the Federal University Otuoke, Bayelsa State, Nigeria, in September 2012. The Department is located on the left wing of the Faculty of Science building. The first Head of Department was late Professor Charles A. Negbenebor, the past immediate was Dr. Okwena J. Pondei while the current Head of Department is Dr. Ifeoma V. Anyiam.

The Department’s laboratories are significantly equipped, adequately manned by career Technologist and technical staff, who attend to students during laboratory session/ practical classes and guide them on the use of relevant equipment. The Departmental library is of modern standard and adequately updated with current facts and educational materials. The Department holds promise for expansion with more facilities resources/ and higher degree programs in no distant time.

Staff list in the Department

1. Prof. T. C Adias Tenure Medical Microbiology
2. Prof. O. Omokaro Sabbatical Environmental Microbiology
3. Prof. D. N Ogbonna Adjunct Environmental Microbiology
4. Prof. K.H Ogbonda Adjunct Food and Industrial Microbiology
5. Prof. I. Mbachu Sabbatical Environmental Microbiology
6. Prof. E. Etebu Adjunct Agric And Molecular Microbiology
7. Dr. L.T Kigigha Contract General Microbiology
8. Dr. J.O Pondei Tenure Environmental Microbiology
9. Dr. I.V Anyiam Tenure Medical and Molecular Microbiology
10. Dr. C.N Opara Tenure Food Microbiology and Biotechnology
11. Dr. A.B Ariyo Tenure Environmental Microbiology
12. Dr. M.A Aladese Tenure Food and Public Health Microbiology
13. Dr. D.V Zige Tenure Medical Microbiology and Public He alth
14. Mr. C.K Anumudu Tenure Food Microbiology
15. Mrs E. Gbodo Tenure Medical Microbiology
16. Mrs F.I Omeje Tenure Environmental Microbiology
17. Miss A. Alabere Tenure Food and Industrial Microbiology