Brief History of Department of Political Science & Public Administration

The Department came into existence when the University was established in 2011. In 2015, the Department earned its first full accreditation which was reaffirmed in 2020. The Department runs a four-year programme that leads to the award of B.Sc. degree in Political Science. It has graduated five sets of students in 2015/2016, 2016/2017, 2017/2018, 2018/2019 and 2019/2020 academic sessions. It currently has students at four different levels (100, 200, 300 and 400).

The number of students in the Department has increased over the years. Recently, the Department received NUC approval to run postgraduate programmes such as Postgraduate Diploma (PGD), Postgraduate Diploma in Public Administration (PGDPA), Masters of Public Administration (MPA), Master of Science (MSc) and Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) degrees in seven areas of specialization. These include Comparative Politics; International Relations and Foreign Policy; Public Administration and Local Government; Development and Social Change; Political Economy; and Conflict, Peace and Strategic Studies; and Political Theory and Methodology.

The programmes are designed to offer opportunities in administration and management positions in the foreign service, public service, international organizations, parliaments, the media, public and private enterprises, academics, international businesses, diplomacy and security services. Political Science Department is adequately staff. It has currently twenty tenure staff. The Department has continued to attract Sabbatical and Adjunct staff to add flavour to its academic culture. Graduates of the Department have continued to represent the Department well as have been continually testified by employers through our employers’ ratings’ platform. The Department is registered with the Nigerian Political Science Association, which is the professional body of Political Scientists in Nigeria. Dr. Felix O. Oriakhi is the current Head of the Department.

Staff List in the Department

1. Dr. Love O. Arugu Tenure Public Administration, Local Government Administration
2. Dr. Felix O.U. Oriakhi Tenure International Relations, Political Theory, Political Economy
3 Dr. John T. Kalama Tenure International Relations, Strategic Studies
4. Dr. Ernest T. Aniche Tenure International Relations, Migration Studies
5. Dr. Francis C. Chilaka Tenure International Relations, Peace and Conflict Resolution, Strategic Studies
6. Mr. Michael Egbuchulam Tenure Public Administration, Local Government
7. Dr. Anthony C. Okoye Tenure Political Economy, Peace Studies, Conflict Studies, Security Studies, Climate Change
8. Dr. Jacob Ogedi Tenure Comparative Politics, Government
9. Dr. Tokpo Edward Coronation Tenure Development Studies, Strategic Studies
10. Dr. Ebiere Lynsa Atani Tenure Development Studies Gender Studies
11. Mr. Solomon C.I. Karibo Tenure Public Administration Local Government
12 Mr. Joshua Okon Tenure International Relations
13. Mr. Fada Doupere Tenure Political Economy
14. Dr. Ayandeji L. Akanbi Tenure Peace and Conflict Resolution
15. Mrs. Queen Enyikorogha Tenure Public Administration
16. Mr. James C. Anekwe Tenure Public Administration, Local Government
15. Mrs. Boroh I. Arabella Tenure Development Studies
16. Mr. Sunday Coastman Tenure Public Administration, Local Government
17. Mr. Livingstone Inegite Tenure Development Studies
18. Ugwu Ernest Ositadinma Tenure Political Economy
19. Mrs. Joy Nwakaego Osuafor Ass. Lecturer Public Administration and Local Government
20. Onwunyirimadu Jude Chikadibia Ass. Lecturer Strategic Studies
21. Dr. Japhet .O. Nnaeto Tenure Public Administration
22. Mr. Jonathan Barile Gonee Tenure Public Administration, Rural and Urban Development
23. Dr. Temple C. Nwambuko Tenure Public Administration, Human Resources Management, Public Policy, Development Studies, Gender Studies, Local Government
24. Boroh, Iwekumo Arabella Tenure Public Administration, Human Resources Management, Public Policy, Development Studies, Gender Studies, Local Government
25. Dr. David Aniefiok Titus Tenure Public Administration