Brief History of the Department

Biochemistry Department originally operated as one of the pioneer programs under the Department of Biological Sciences, in the Faculty of Science in 2012. On February 10, 2016, the program metamorphosed into a full blown Department with Dr. Emmanuel. N. Agomuo as the pioneer head of Department, ever since the Department has grown in all ramifications. The department is well endowed with lecturers with enthusiasm for research, teaching, and community service who can always draw the lines and relate content to context for human and societal development.



Staff list in the Department

1Dr Enyohwo D. KpomahTenureNutrition & Toxicology
2Dr Ejovi OsiomaTenureEnvironmental Toxicology
3Dr Eni-yimini S. AgoroTenureEnvironmental Biochemistry & Toxicology
4Dr Joel T. JohnsonTenureClinical Biochemistry
5Dr Omotayo B. Ilesanmi TenureBiochemical Toxicology
6Mr Joseph A. OgbolosinghaTenureMolecular Pathology & Neurotoxicology
7Mr Charles G. IkimiTenureMedical/Clinical Biochemistry
8Mr Endurance A. GbodoTenureMolecular/Biomedical Science
9Professor (Mrs) Bene W. AbbeyContractNutritional Biochemistry & Toxicology
10Professor Sule O. JimohSabbaticalMedical Biochemistry
11Dr Edna O. IbegbulemSabbaticalClinical Biochemistry