Brief History of the Department

The department of Haematology and Blood Transfusion Science began on November 1, 2023, as one of the pioneer departments of the then-newly created Faculty of Medical Laboratory Science, with Dr. Emmanuel. C. Onuoha serving as the pioneer acting head. It is a department that combines haematology with blood transfusion science. The department is endowed with a crop of committed, dedicated, and motivated staff with rich and diverse industry and academic experiences, ready to shape future medical laboratory scientists who will excel in the practice of the profession, in the public and private sectors, locally and anywhere in the world.

Staff list in the Department

1 DR. Emmanuel Chinedu ONUOHA Tenure Coagulation, Leukaemia, Immunohaematology, Phytotherapy.
2 Prof. Teddy Charles ADIAS Tenure Molecular Haematology, Haematology of Infectious Diseases, Blood Transfusion Safety and Alternatives..
3 Prof. Zaccheaus Awortu JEREMIAH Tenure
4 DR.Chinedu-Madu Jane UGOCHI Tenure  Molecular Haematology,  Blood Transfusion, Safety, and Substitutes.  Immunohaematologyof Diseases.
5 DR. Precious Ngozichinwe ALISI Tenure  Immunohaematology, Haematology-Oncology, Immunology of ageing and Forensic Haematology
6 DR. Nwika Goodnews NKABARI Tenure  Serology and Blood Transfusion