Dr. Olufunso O. Abosede.

Brief History of the Department

The Department of Chemistry (formerly Chemical Sciences) is one of the foundation Departments of the Federal University Otuoke, established in the Faculty of Science in 2011 with a total of seventeen pioneer students and four Academic Staff. The Department has since steadily progressed in staffing, student enrolment profile, facility acquisition and many other factors that create enabling environment for academic excellence. Currently, there twenty-three (23) academic staff, fifteen (15) technical staff and six (6) administrative staff. The Department is presently running a 4-year programme that leads to the award of Bachelor of Science degree in Chemistry. The pioneer HOD was Professor I.M. Adekunle who handed over to Dr. S.A. Uzoekwe in October 2015. The current Head of Department, Dr Olufunso Abosede took over the leadership of the Department with effect from September 14, 2021.

The BSc. Chemistry programme in the Department of Chemistry offers traditional sub-disciplines of chemistry namely organic, inorganic, physical, industrial, analytical and environmental chemistry. Being located in the Niger Delta Region, the Department also offers petroleum chemistry and in line with global demands in pollution reduction at source for eco-solution, the Department offers green chemistry.

Staff list in the Department

S/N Name of Lecturers Mode of Appointment Area of Specialization
1. Prof. Iheoma M. Adekunle Fresh Appointment Analytical and Environmental Chemistry
2. Prof. Eno O. Ekanem Transfer of Appointment Analytical Chemistry
3. Dr. Anayo S. Uzoekwe Fresh Appointment Analytical-Environmental Chemistry
4. Dr. Akens Hamilton-Amachree Transfer of Appointment Industrial-Organic Chemistry
5. Dr. Olufunso O. Abosede Fresh Appointment Inorganic Chemistry
6. Dr. Nkem B. Iroha Fresh Appointment Physical Chemistry
7. Dr. Augustine A. Chokor Fresh Appointment Environmental Chemistry
8. Dr. Richard A. Ukpe Fresh Appointment Environmental Chemistry
9. Dr. Taye T. Alawode Fresh Appointment Organic Chemistry
10. Dr. Babatunde T. Ogunyemi Fresh Appointment Physical/Computational Chemistry
11. Dr. Paschal O. Iniaghe Fresh Appointment Analytical-Environmental Chemistry
12. Dr. Ogunyemi O. Oderinlo Fresh Appointment Medicinal Chemistry
13. Mr. Edet O. Odokwo Fresh Appointment Organic Chemistry
14. Mr. Isaac U. Isaac Fresh Appointment Analytical Chemistry
15. Mr. Anthony A. Sangoremi Fresh Appointment Analytical Chemistry
16. Mr. Afeez T. Gbajabiamila Fresh Appointment Industrial Chemistry
17. Ms. Nancy A. Madueke Fresh Appointment Industrial Chemistry
18 Mr. Temitope M. Bamidele Fresh Appointment Physical Chemistry
19. Prof. Aiyebaemi I. Spiff Contract Organic Chemistry
20. Prof. Victor U. Okojie Adjunct Inorganic Chemistry
21. Dr. Seimokumo Angaye Contract Organic Chemistry
22. Dr. NnaemekaNgobiri Adjunct Physical Chemistry
23. Dr. Azibaola K. Innengite Adjunct Environmental Chemistry