Brief History of the Department

The department was created in the 2016/2017 session. It offers two programmes; Animal and Environmental Biology(AEB), and Plant Science and Biotechnology (PSB). It graduated the first admitted students in August 2021, with five (5) students graduating with first class.  Two were from the Animal and Environmental Biology proramme while three were from the Plant Science and Biotechnology Programme.

Staff list in the Department

S/NNameAppointmentArea of Specialization
1Dr. Okpo E. UnanaonwiTenureForest Ecology and Silviculture
2Dr.  Mbosowo M. EtukudoTenurePlant Physiology
3Dr. Thomas O. IkpesuTenureEcotoxicology
4Dr. (Mrs) Chinonye O. EzenwakaTenureEnvironmental And Public Health Parasitology
5Mr. Samuel IhimikaiyeTenurePlant Conservation Phytomedicine, Ethnobiology (Ethnobotany/Ethnomedicine), Phytoremediation
6Dr. (Mrs.) Roberts I. M. EneniTenurePlant Taxonomy and Molecular Biology
7Dr Benefit OnuTenureEnvironmental Toxicology and Pollution Control
8Dr. Abah A. EdacheAdjunctMedical Parasitology
9Prof. (Mrs) Emilia T. JajaAdjunctPlant Physiology
10Prof. Lucky A. ElakhameAdjunctHydrobiology and Fisheries
11Prof. Ogamba E. NwabuezeAdjunctAquatic Ecology and Ecotoxicology
13Prof. Augustina O. DaviesAdjunctZoology, Hydrobiology, Fisheries, Aquaculture, Biotechnology, Aquatic Ecology/Pollution, Ecotourism and Environmental Science
14Prof. (Mrs) Nkeiruka M. OrjiAdjunctParasitology, Entomology, Medical Laboratory