Brief History of the Department

Computer Science and Informatics Department, until 10th of February, 2016, was one of the programmes under the then tripartite Department of Mathematical, Computer and Physical Sciences (MCP), which was created in 2011.  The Pioneer Acting Head of Department after the Demerge from MCP was Late Dr. Ureigho Roy Joel and thereafter, Dr Nlerum A. Promise who handed over to the current Head of Department, Prof. Ohakwe Johnson. There are sixteen (16) teaching staff in the Department made up of fourteen (14) tenured staff and two (2) Adjunct Professors. The tenured staff comprise a Professor, a Senior Lecturer, a Lecturer I, four (4) Lecturer II, six (6) Assistant Lecturers and a Graduate Assistant of which four (4) are on study leave (three (3)Assistant Lecturers in pursuit of their P.hD. Degree programmes and the the Graduate Assistant in pursuit of his Masters’ degree programme)

Staff list in the Department

1Prof. Johnson OhakweTenureDistribution Theory and Time Series Analysis and Forecasting
2Dr. Promise A. NlerumTenureMobile and Pervasive Computing
3Mrs. Chinonye M. E. ObasiTenureDatabases and Networks
4Mr Okardi BiobeleTenureManagement Information Systems
5Mrs Anasuodei A. MokoTenureComputer Graphics and Animation
6Mrs. May T. StowTenureComputer System
7Mrs. Maudlyn I. Victor-IkohTenureManagement Information Systems
8Mr. Samuel A.  IkirigoTenureNetwork Management
9Mr. Larry G. EniweiTenureComputational Systems
10Mr. Joshua T. IbiboTenureCyber Security
11Mrs. Dupe C. OgunmodimuTenureComputer System
12Miss Shobowale R. TemitopeTenureArtificial Intelligence
13Mr. Chinwendu B. ElejeTenureComputer/Statistics
14Mr. Peremobowei ElaweremiTenureComputer Systems
15Prof. Ekechukewu BonifaceAdjunctComputer Architecture
16Prof. (Mrs) Virginia E.  EjioforAdjunctDatabases