Brief History of the Department

The Mathematics and Statistics Programme was one of the Programmes in the defunct Department of Mathematical, Computer and Physical Sciences (MCP), Faculty of Science, Federal University Otuoke, Bayelsa State. It was one of the Pioneers Programmes in the University with students’ enrolment of 11 in 2012. The Pioneer Head of the Department of Mathematical, Computer and Physical Sciences (with Mathematics and Statistics as one of the Programmes) was Prof. G.O. Nworuh. He was succeeded by Prof. A.S. Ekine, followed by the then Prof. Leonard Shilgba who also became the Head of Department of Mathematics and Statistics when each of the programmes that made up MCP (Mathematics and Statistics, Computer Science and Informatics and Physics) became autonomous Department in 2016. Prof. Ohakwe Johnson succeeded Leonard Shilgba in November, 2016. The current Head of the Department is Dr. Ibe Stephen Onyejiuwaka.

The Department is running a Degree Programme in Mathematics and Statistics with option in either Mathematics or Statistics.

In addition to the Degree Programme, the Department offers service courses to students of Engineering, Education, Biological and other physical Sciences.

The course curriculum for the Degree Programme in Mathematics and Statistics with options in Mathematics and Statistics conforms to the Nigerian Universities Commission (N.U.C) Benchmark Minimum Academic Standards for Undergraduate Programmes in Nigerian Universities. The Department’s curriculum for B.Sc Degree Programme in Mathematics and Statistics is tailored towards not only providing sound foundation for higher degrees in the Mathematical, Engineering and Management Sciences, but adequately diversified to take care of public and private sectors’ requirements in Mathematics and Statistics. The diversification of the programme adequately prepares our students to find themselves in most of the organized public sectors like Banks, Oil companies, Planning, Research and Statistics Departments of Federal and State Ministries, Extra-ministerial Departments, National and International Corporations.

The course content of our undergraduate programme is well articulated and tailored to meet the ever increasing need in mathematical and statistical skills and methodology in other disciplines.


Staff list in the Department

S/N Name Mode of Appointmen Area of Specialization
1 Dr. Ibe Stephen Onyejiuwaka Full Time
2 Prof. Ohakwe, Johnson. Full Time
3 Prof. Ekezie Dan Dan Part-time
4 Prof. Onianwa Charles U. Part-time
5 Prof. Ujagbe Agbeboh G. Part-time
6 Dr. Anyanwu Success Augustine Part-time
7 Dr. Ezeora Jeremiah Nkwegu Part-time
8 Dr Ameafula, Gabriel Chibuzo Full Time
9 Dr. Ezeorah Jonathan Nnabuchi Part-time
10 Dr. Akpanibah, Edikan Edem Part-time
11 Dr. Egbuhuzor, Udechukwu Peter Part-time
12 Mr. Samaila Sylvanus Kupongog Full Time
13 Mr. Bunonyo Wilcox Kubugha Full Time
14 Mrs. Ahmadi Ugwulo Chinyere. Full Time
15 Mrs. Udoh Ndimpong Augustine Full Time
16 Mr.Eli Innocent Cleopas Full Time
17 Mr. Iworiso Jonathan Full Time