Brief History of the Department

The Department of Sociology and Anthropology came into being as a programme alongside Political Science, Economics and Development Studies, Accounting etc. under the then Department of Social Sciences, in the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences, Federal University Otuoke in 2011 with Dr. Evans Eze as the Acting Head of Department. The programme became a full-fledged Department on February 10, 2016, having been accorded full accreditation by the National Universities Commission (NUC) with Dr. Joseph Oke Omoro as its pioneer Acting Head of Department from 2015-2016. The Department experienced a change in leadership as Dr Lasisi Raimi, emerged the Coordinator and later Acting Head, for a progressive period of five years, 2016-2021. Within, this period the Department made significant progress as the maiden edition of it’s Journal was floated in 2019 and another full accreditation as well as a successful Postgraduate resource verification from the National Universities Commission (NUC) were achieved in 2021. Currently, the Department is headed by Dr. Mrs. Michael-Olomu, Oyintonyo who assumed office on Wednesday 13, October, 2021.The Department has grown significantly especially in terms of manpower and student size and has successfully graduated five (5) sets of students with outstanding performances. Considering, its humble beginning with just 14 individuals as its pioneer students, the Department now boasts of over 470 students. The teaching staff strength has equally witnessed immense growth with about fourteen (14) lecturers across the different subfields of Sociology and Anthropology with relevant indigenous and international experiences. The Department currently boasts of three (3) professors, two (2) senior lecturers, four (4) lecturer 1, two (2) Lecturer 2, and an Assistant Lecturer as well as five (5) administrative staff.