Brief History of the Department

The Mathematics and Statistics Programme was one of the Programmes in the defunct Department of Mathematical, Computer and Physical Sciences (MCP), Faculty of Science, Federal University Otuoke, Bayelsa State. It was one of the Pioneers Programmes in the University with students’ enrolment of 11 in 2012. The Pioneer Head of the Department of Mathematical, Computer and Physical Sciences (with Mathematics and Statistics as one of the Programmes) was Prof. G.O. Nworuh. He was succeeded by Prof. A.S. Ekine, followed by the then Prof. Leonard Shilgba who also became the Head of Department of Mathematics and Statistics when each of the programmes that made up MCP (Mathematics and Statistics, Computer Science and Informatics and Physics) became autonomous Department in 2016. Prof. Ohakwe Johnson succeeded Leonard Shilgba in November, 2016. The current Head of the Department is Dr. Ibe Stephen Onyejiuwaka.

The Department is running a Degree Programme in Mathematics and Statistics with option in either Mathematics or Statistics.

In addition to the Degree Programme, the Department offers service courses to students of Engineering, Education, Biological and other physical Sciences.

The course curriculum for the Degree Programme in Mathematics and Statistics with options in Mathematics and Statistics conforms to the Nigerian Universities Commission (N.U.C) Benchmark Minimum Academic Standards for Undergraduate Programmes in Nigerian Universities. The Department’s curriculum for B.Sc Degree Programme in Mathematics and Statistics is tailored towards not only providing sound foundation for higher degrees in the Mathematical, Engineering and Management Sciences, but adequately diversified to take care of public and private sectors’ requirements in Mathematics and Statistics. The diversification of the programme adequately prepares our students to find themselves in most of the organized public sectors like Banks, Oil companies, Planning, Research and Statistics Departments of Federal and State Ministries, Extra-ministerial Departments, National and International Corporations.

The course content of our undergraduate programme is well articulated and tailored to meet the ever increasing need in mathematical and statistical skills and methodology in other disciplines.


Staff list in the Department

1Dr. Stephen O. IbeTenurePhysics (Applied Geophysics)
2Prof. Johnson  OhakweTenureStatistics (Time Series Analysis and Distribution Theory)
3Dr. Chibuzo G. AmeafulaTenureStatistics (Econometrics Modeling and Time series)
4Dr. Udechukwu P. EgbuhuzorTenureApplied Mathematics (Solid Mechanics)
5Dr. Edikan E. AkpanibahTenureFinancial Mathematics
6Mr. Sylvanus K. SamailaTenureApplied Mathematics
7Dr. Wilcox K. BunonyoTenureApplied Mathematics
8Dr. Innocent C. EliTenureApplied Mathematics
9Dr Ugwulo C. AmadiTenureApplied Mathematics
10Dr Ndipmong A. UdohTenureApplied Mathematics
11Mr. Jonathan IworisoTenureStatistics and Data Analysis
12Prof. Dan D. EkezieAdjunctStatistics (Multivariance Analysis)
13Prof. Charles U. OnianwaAdjunctComputational Mathematics/Numerical Analysis of ordinary Differential Equations
14Prof. Ujagbe G. AgbebohAdjunctMathematics (Numerical Analysis)
15Dr Augustine S. C.  AnyanwuAdjunctAbstract Algebra/Operator Theory
16Dr Jeremiah N. EzeorahAdjunctMathematical Analysis
17Dr. Jonathan N. EzeoraAdjunctApplied Mathematics
18Mr. Olarewaju SaheedTenureDiscrete Mathematics
19Dr. Rafiat Bada AbubakarTenureAlgebra, Semi Group Theorty and Probability Theory